10 Pillars of a Good Childhood

August 6, 2012

The Association for Childhood Education International, organizers of the “Decade for Childhood” campaign, have formulated Ten Pillars of a Good Childhood. The pillars can be used to analyze the quality of care offered to children at home and in educational settings and serve as a guide for policies related to early childhood and education.

The 10 Pillars of a Good Childhood are:

  1. Safe and secure places for living and learning and access to health care, clothing, and nutritious food.
  2. Strong families and loving, consistent caregivers.
  3. Social interactions and friendship.
  4. Creative play and physical activity.
  5. Appreciation and stewardship of the natural environment.
  6. Creative expression through music, dance, drama, and other arts.
  7. Education that develops the full capacities of the child — cognitive, physical, social, emotional, and ethical.
  8. Supportive, nurturing, child-friendly communities.
  9. Growing independence and decision making.
  10. Children and youth participating in community life.